Favorite Places: St. Augustine

St. Augustine1 (2)

         Cool, clean, crisp water satiates my unrelenting thirst for life.  As the transparent liquid is digested within me, I am reminded of youth.  Of timeless days spent aimlessly wandering on a sun-drenched beach.  Watching the forgotten waves lap against the shore, I know that I have found my own personal Fountain of Youth.  Before I can settle in and become comfortable, though, the ocean evaporates and my tongue dries leaving only the next best thing: a place called St. Augustine, Florida.

         Home to Ponce de Leon’s Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park, St. Augustine is different than most places in Florida, and the United States for that matter.  I suppose it has something to do with the fact that St. Augustine is the oldest continuously occupied European-established settlement in the continental United States.  Just how old is St. Augustine?  Well, it was founded more than 300 years before the city where the Four Traveling Macs currently reside was first incorporated.  In the U.S., that’s old.

         Standing at the gates to the old city, I knew that I liked St. Augustine.  I like places with a past, and St. Augustine certainly has that.  It doesn’t hurt that it has a nice beach as well.  Castillo de San Marcos, the oldest masonry fort in the continental U.S., is cool too.  Then, of course, there’s the Fountain of Youth.

         St. Augustine is definitely an interesting place to explore.  With its interesting past, unique architecture, and nice weather, St. Augustine is not only a great place to visit, it is one of the Four Traveling Macs favorite places to visit.  We all need a trip to the Fountain of Youth from time to time, right?

St. Augustine2 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

