As the Sun Slowly Sets in the West

IMG_6743

         Staring out the window, I watch the sun as it slowly sets in the west. It is a hazy, late summer day, and I am behind the wheel. On the last leg of a long trip, we are nearing home.
         “Look girls,” I say.  “Over there, by the mountains.  See the sun, it’s setting.”
         “Ooh, pretty,” the youngest answers me, as she sits on her booster seat and looks out her rear window.
         The hazy atmosphere mixed with the radiant colors of the setting sun give the sky a particularly memorable brilliance.  It is a remarkably memorable moment in time.
         “That’s quite a sunset,” Elizabeth replies from the passenger’s seat, as her hand finds its way to my knee.
         Cruising along at 70 some miles an hour, we watch as the sun weaves in and out of the space between the tall firs that dot the landscape.
         “It is a fine sunset,” I say to Elizabeth.
         “It certainly is,” she says back to me.
         “I’m bored,” the oldest chimes in.
         “Are we home yet?” the youngest asks.
         “No, not yet,” I reply.
         Staring out the window, I watch the sun as it slowly melts into the horizon.  Then it is gone.  Its memory, though, is burnt into the sky in the form of reddish-orange hues.  Soon, they too are gone.
         Driving in the darkness with illuminated pavement stretching out before us, we make our way home and to the end of our journey.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Impressive text and photograph!~ Best wishes to you. Aquileana 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by Cody McCullough on March 8, 2015 at 5:07 pm

      Thank you Aquileana. I’m glad that you liked this post. I tried to do something different with this post, so I went with present tense in the car. I thought it would be a good farewell, and would sum up our adventures nicely.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

